Whaddya mean you haven't stocked up yet? Oh all right, neither have I. And unless I want my new year's eve to be one with a tiny dreg of port and some angostura bitters, I'm going to have to do a bit of a shop.
Cocktail? Don't mind if I do!
Thankfully, there's loads more choice out there for coeliacs (or anyone else who needs to avoid gluten). And I don't mean just in terms of new gluten-free beers.
Easy-peasy lemon squeezy
Wine, cider and pure spirits are all gluten-free - even the ones that are made from grain. The distillation process eliminates the gluten and means we can all enjoy a single malt whisky. Hurrah! Lemon wedges are fine as long as the person handling them hasn't just poured a beer and cross-contaminated.
Where it gets complicated
Most mixers are naturally gluten-free but watch out for cloudy lemonades or barley waters that contain gluten.
When spirits suddenly get spicy, things (apparently) can change. There have been multiple rumours that a bottle of spiced rum contains gluten. That said, I've never actually come across any I can't have so I'm not sure how much of this is an urban myth. If in doubt, read the label or contact the manufacturer.
The last time I was in the supermarket I counted 9 (nine!) gluten-free beers, which shows just how popular they have become recently (not so long ago I'd have struggled to find anything at all). Choose from some major brand names including IPA, Stella Artois and Old Speckled Hen.
These are a joy indeed. Why? If I don't want a drink I shouldn't be punished for choosing a non-alcoholic option. Is it really possible to spend an entire night on cola or orange juice without becoming bored/getting a massive sugar rush? So the non-alcoholic spirit with mixer (such as soda or tonic, which are both naturally gluten-free) is a winner in my books, particularly as it looks so classy. My favourite is Caleno, which is widely available in supermarkets.
What are you stocking up on for new year's eve? Do share your story below!